The Department of Pathology and Immunology has a long and rich history of excellence in research, teaching, and clinical service. Achieving departmental excellence is not a solitary act; it involves the efforts of many, many dedicated individuals. Awardees are selected for their dedication and commitment to excellence.

Award Categories

Outstanding Achievements in Quality Improvement Award

This award recognizes an individual or team that has demonstrated leadership and innovation in a quality improvement process.  The quality improvement may occur in processes within the Department of Pathology & Immunology, the medical school, or BJC. This award may be related to Clinical Service, Research, Education, or internal departmental processes or departmental administration. All P&I faculty and staff are eligible for this award. Teams must be led by at least one faculty and/or staff member.

Outstanding Achievements in Leadership/Professionalism

This award acknowledges and celebrates exemplary leadership and professionalism that has a significant and positive impact. Eligible candidates portray both strong leadership characteristics and serve as a role model for other faculty and staff. All P&I faculty and staff are eligible for this award.

Outstanding Paper of the Year Award

This self-nominated award is to recognize a paper published in the previous fiscal year, by a faculty member that makes an exceptional contribution to science.  P&I faculty at the Instructor (and extended post-docs), Assistant and Associate Professor level are eligible for this award. Papers will be grouped  and awarded by division: Combined LGM/GMP, combined AMP/NP, and IMM.

The faculty nominated for the award must be the paper’s first (co-first) or last (co-last) author and with WUSM affiliation noted in article. The paper must be faculty’s own original research and nominee’s role in study should be included in the nomination. There are no restrictions on the type of research that is eligible for this award.

Outstanding Contributions to Education

This award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to pathology, laboratory medicine, or immunobiology education. All types of educational offerings are considered, including education for medical students, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, residents, or clinical fellows or continuing education activities. Eligible candidates have demonstrated excellence in teaching, or novel teaching materials/methods, or new curricula.  All P&I faculty are eligible for this award.

Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award

This award recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to faculty mentoring by actively assisting early- and mid-career faculty in developing their career(s). Exceptional mentoring can include offering advice, feedback and guidance on research, teaching or clinical activities, coaching on work-life balance, and/or providing professional opportunities, sponsorship, or advocacy for faculty mentees. All P&I faculty are eligible for this award.

Outstanding Contributions to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

This award acknowledges and celebrates an individual who has exemplified and prioritized diversity, equity, and inclusion within the department. Eligible candidates highlight and prioritize efforts to increase inclusion of all faculty and staff. Special consideration will be given to someone who has created or championed an initiative that increases diversity and inclusion. All P&I faculty and staff are eligible for this award.

P&I Shining Star Award

This award recognizes and rewards an outstanding P&I staff member who has provided exemplary service. Multiple shining star awards may be given annually.

Pathology & Immunology Department Special Recognition Award

This award is given by the Department Head to anyone (Faculty, staff, or trainee) of their choosing for outstanding contributions to the department. Nominations will not be made for the Special Recognition Awards. This award is at the discretion of the Department Head. Multiple Special Recognition Awards may be given annually.