2020 Award Recipients

The Department of Pathology & Immunology has a long and rich history of excellence in research, teaching, and clinical service. Achieving departmental excellence is not a solitary act, it involves the efforts of many, many dedicated individuals. This year, in the face of the hardships that COVID-19 has brought, it is especially satisfying to celebrate some of the faculty and staff who have made outstanding contributions to our department. Please join us in congratulating the 2020 inaugural awardees for their dedication and commitment to excellence.

Ceremony Program Book
Ceremony Slides

Outstanding Achievements in Leadership and Professionalism

Outstanding Paper of the Year for Junior Faculty

A Potently Neutralizing Antibody Protects Mice Against SARS-CoV-2 Infection (The Journal of Immunology, 2020, 205: 915–922)
Link to paper

Excellence in Faculty Mentoring

Outstanding Achievements in Quality Improvement

COVID-19 Team

Although not all team members are represented in this image, all involved were vital to our success. Thank you!

Outstanding Contributions to Education

Dr. Cote’s Special Recognition Awards

COVID Clinical Heros

Neil Anderson, MD
Carey-Ann Burnham, PhD
Christopher Farnsworth, PhD
Bijal Parikh, MD, PhD
Joan Rossi
Mark Watson, MD, PhD

Covid Research Heros

Gaya Amarasinghe, PhD
Ali Ellebedy, PhD
Daved Fremont, PhD

Digital Pathology Heros

Joseph Gaut, MD, PhD
Michael Isaacs
Jon Ritter, MD

Special Commendation

Marco Colonna, MD

Staff Shining Star Awards