Research > Faculty By Clinical Interest > Kenneth Murphy, MD, PhD

Eugene Opie First Centennial Professor, Pathology and Immunology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Room 7766, CSRB
Office: (314) 362-2009
Lab: (314) 362-2004
Publication List


Selecting the correct immune response to pathogens – development of dendritic cells and lymphocyte subsets

My laboratory examines how specialized lineages of the immune system develop to anticipate various types of infections and to generate the correct quality of immune response. Our initial focus examined the basis of CD4 T cell development into the function helper subsets, such as TH1, TH2,TH17, and so on. Our work defined the physiological basis of instructive differentiation that occurs in response to pathogens and defined the signaling pathways and transcriptional circuits involved. Our early discovery that dendritic cells and macrophages determined the direction of T cell differentiation, by their production of cytokines such as IL-12, led us to examine how myeloid cells evolved to be the decision makers for T cell differentiation in immunity. We are currently focused on defining the developmental basis for dendritic cell diversification into the functional subsets that control induction of the various types of lymphocyte effector responses. This work has practical implications for improved immunotherapy, including vaccine design. Ongoing projects can be found by reading our recently published work and review articles.

Editorial Responsibilities

2005 - PresentLead AuthorJaneway's Immunobiology, Garland Science
2001 - PresentTransmitting EditorInternational Immunology
2001 - PresentEditorial BoardEuropean Journal of Immunology
2000 - PresentAssociate EditorImmunity
1997 - 2000EditorImmunity

Service to the Department

2009 - PresentSelection Committee for Faculty Affairs
2008 - PresentCell Biology Search Committee
2008 - PresentSpeaker Committee, Pathology and Immunology
2008 - PresentDBBS Evaluation Committee, Pathology and Immunology
2000 - 2007Barnes Hospital Medical Staff, Department of Pathology
2000 - PresentImmunology Student Admissions Committee
1997 - 2000American Association of Immunologist Nominating Committee
1992 - 1995Graduate School Admissions Committee
1992 - PresentSteering Committee, Immunology Program
1992 - PresentDBBS Admissions Committee

Service to the University

1997 - PresentInvestigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

DBBS Graduate Program Affiliation

Immunology Program
Developmental Biology Program

Clinical Interest

Anatomic and Molecular Pathology - Autopsy Pathology

Selected Publications

Haldar M, Kohyama M, So AY, KC W, Wu X, Briseno CG, Satpathy AT, Kretzer NM, Arase H, Rajasekaran NS, Wang L, Egawa T, Igarashi K, Baltimore D, Murphy TL, Murphy KM.. Heme-mediated SPI-C induction promotes monocyte differentiation into iron-recycling macrophages.. Cell ;156(6):1223-34, 2014 Abstract

Wumesh KC, Satpathy AT, Rapaport AS, Briseno CG, Wu X, Albring JC, Russler-Germain EV, Kretzer NM, Durai V, Persaud SP, Edelson BT, Loschko J, Cella M, Allen PM, Nussenzweig MC, Colonna M, Sleckman BP, Murphy TL, Murphy KM. L-Myc expression by dendritic cells is required for optimal T-cell priming. Nature ;507(7491):243-7, 2014 Abstract

Satpathy AT, Briseno CG, Lee JS, Ng D, Manieri NA, KC W, Wu X, Thomas SR, Lee WL, Turkoz M, McDonald KG, Meredith MM, Song C, Guidos CJ, Newberry RD, Ouyang W, Murphy TL, Stappenbeck TS, Gommerman JL, Nussenzweig MC, Colonna M, Kopan R, Murphy KM.. Notch2-dependent classical dendritic cells orchestrate intestinal immunity to attaching-and-effacing bacterial pathogens.. Nat.Immunol.14(9):937-48., 2013 Abstract

Satpathy AT, Wu X, Albring JC, Murphy KM.. Re(de)fining the dendritic cell lineage.. Nat.Immunol.13(12):1145-54., 2012 Abstract

Tussiwand R, Lee WL, Murphy TL, Mashayekhi M, Wumesh KC, Albring JC, Satpathy AT, Rotondo JA, Edelson BT, Kretzer NM, Wu X, Weiss LA, Glasmacher E, Li P, Liao W, Behnke M, Lam SS, Aurthur CT, Leonard WJ, Singh H, Stallings CL, Sibley LD, Schreiber RD, Mur. Compensatory dendritic cell development mediated by BATF-IRF interactions.. Nature ;490(7421):502-7., 2012 Abstract

Murphy TL, Tussiwand R, Murphy KM.. Specificity through cooperation: BATF-IRF interactions control immune-regulatory networks.. Nat.Rev.Immunol.13(7):499-509., 2012 Abstract

Ise W, Kohyama M, Schraml BU, Zhang T, Schwer B, Basu U, Alt FW, Tang J, Oltz EM, Murphy TL, Murphy KM.. The transcription factor BATF controls the global regulators of class-switch recombination in both B cells and T cells.. Nat.Immunol.12(6):536-43., 2011 Abstract

Ise W, Kohyama M, Nutsch KM, Lee HM, Suri A, Unanue ER, Murphy TL, Murphy KM.. CTLA-4 suppresses the pathogenicity of self antigen-specific T cells by cell-intrinsic and cell-extrinsic mechanisms.. Nat.Immunol.11(2):129-35., 2010 Abstract

Kohyama M, Ise W, Edelson BT, Wilker PR, Hildner K, Mejia C, Frazier WA, Murphy TL, Murphy KM. Role for Spi-C in the development of red pulp macrophages and splenic iron homeostasis.. Nature ;457(7227):318-21., 2009 Abstract

Schraml BU, Hildner K, Ise W, Lee WL, Smith WA, Solomon B, Sahota G, Sim J, Mukasa R, Cemerski S, Hatton RD, Stormo GD, Weaver CT, Russell JH, Murphy TL, Murphy KM.. The AP-1 transcription factor Batf controls T(H)17 differentiation.. Nature ;460(7253):405-9., 2009 Abstract

Hildner K, Edelson BT, Purtha WE, Diamond M, Matsushita H, Kohyama M, Calderon B, Schraml BU, Unanue ER, Diamond MS, Schreiber RD, Murphy TL, Murphy KM.. Batf3 deficiency reveals a critical role for CD8alpha+ dendritic cells in cytotoxic T cell immunity.. Science ;322(5904):1097-100, 2008 Abstract

Current Trainees

Graduate Students
    Vivek Durai - MD, PhD
    Gary Grajales - MD, PhD
    Carlos Briseno - PhD
    Xiaodi Wu - MD, PhD
    Nicole Kretzer - MD, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellows
    Roxane Tussiwand - PhD
    Arifumi Iwata - MD, PhD

CP Resident
    Malay Haldar - MD

Past Trainees

Graduate Students
    Wumesh KC - MD, PhD
    Ansu Satpathy - MD, PhD
    Winne Lee - PhD
    Mi Cai - PhD
    Mona Mashekhi - MD, PhD
    Jennifer Gill - MD, PhD
    Barbara Schraml - PhD
    Peter Wilker - PhD
    Robert Lidsley - MD, PhD
    Michelle Hurchla - PhD
    John Sedy - PhD
    Lisa Benson - PhD
    Chen Chen - PhD
    Mehmet Guler - MD
    Chyi-Song Hsieh - MD, PhD
    Nils Jacobson - MD, PhD
    Piotr Kulesza
    Wenjun Ouyang - PhD
    Sheila H. Ranganath
    Susanne J. Szabo - PhD
    Cynthia Wenner
    Jianfei Yang - MD, PhD
    Mei-xia Zhou
    Maryam Afkarian

Postdoctoral Fellows
    Chang Liu - MD, PhD
    Jorn Albring - MD, PhD
    Michelle Sandau - PhD
    Brian Eldelson - MD, PhD
    Masako Kohyama-Ise - PhD
    Wataru Ise - PhD
    Ellen Langer - PhD
    Kai Hildner - MD, PhD
    Maya Gavrieli - PhD
    Naruhisa Ota - MD, PhD
    John David Farrar - MD, PhD
    James Gorham - MD, PhD
    Shinichiro Kagami - MD, PhD
    Norihiko Watanabe - MD, PhD
    Helene Asnagli - PhD
    Laura Carter - PhD
    Jae Youl Cho - PhD
    Marc Cleveland